Windows oh so popular

I had a doubt suddenly… Did Microsoft make the name “Windows” more popular by using it as the name of their product? Such a common household name, it has reached such a state, where in if my mom asks me open a window, my hand automatically goes to “Windows key + E”. No matter, who, what anyone says, Microsoft has done an amazing job in popularizing their software on to a lotta desktops in the world!!

Which are people more aware of? If someone suddenly says “Close the window” or “Open the window”, do you automatically think of the physical, real Windows or the ethereal, virtual software  – the Operating System by Microsoft? Lemme know as a comment ;-)!

2 Replies to “Windows oh so popular”

  1. When someone says “Close the window” or “Open the window”, I think its the setting which would determine my action. In office, yes, I would look straight at my PC and maybe appear befuddled, cos there are so many damn windows that I wouldn’t know which one to close/open. At home, I would close/open, yes, the actual/real/original *window*.

    But this is not to deny that I have become corrupted by the Microsoft OS and its functionality. So much so that I often peer into my wardrobe thinking of some garment I want to pick up, and involuntarily picturize the Search button, and try to click it in my mind. πŸ˜€ Unbelievable as it may sound, that’s happened to me many times. I don’t know how many others have had similar experiences.

    The Undo functionality is something I often get confused about – cannot restrict need for that just to my computer system or to my code πŸ™‚ Every time I get caught with my foot in my mouth, I wish desperately for the Undo button.

  2. So much so that I often peer into my wardrobe thinking of some garment I want to pick up, and involuntarily picturize the Search button, and try to click it in my mind.

    ROFLMAO!

    Hilarious, I agree ;-)!

Leave a Reply

